It is located on the west bank of the island after leaving the settlement. It is an institution of the House of Philanthropenon, one of the families coming from Constantinople that were settled in Ioannina since times of Michael I Komnenos Doukas.View more
The Cathedral of Saint Athanasios
At the point where the Metropolis of Ioannina is located today (1, Metropolis street), there was a Monastery dedicated to Saint Athanasios the Great. After the failed movement of Dionysios the Philosopher (Dionysios Skylosophos), in 1611, and the expulsion of Christians from the castle of Ioannina, the church of Saint Athanasios replaced the cathedral of Pantocrator inside the castle and became the third Cathedral of the city.View more
Monastery of Diliou or Strategopoulos
The oral tradition connects it with the house of the Stratigopoulos, an aristocratic family from Constantinople, who played an important role in the administration of the city of Ioannina. The katholikon, a building of the late 13th century, is a single-nave room church with a narthex and a built-in two-storey cell to the west.View more
Church of Saint George of Ioannina
It is located in Square Parga Ioanninon. The relics of the Saint, who is patron of the city, are kept in the church. Saint George, was hanged by the Turks at age of 30, on January 17, 1838, from the plane tree that existed in the locality Kourmanio, near the gate of the city castle, when he refused to renounce Christianity.
Monastery of the Birth of Virgin Mary at Dourachani
According to a tradition, this monastery was founted in 1434 by Durahan Pasha, Beylerbeyi of Roumeli, after his army crossed the frozen lake. After a fire of 1825 it was built from the ground up in 1830.View more
Monastery Panagia Eleousa
The monastery was originally dedicated to Saint Nikolaos, known as the monastery of Methodaton or Gkioumaton, due to its connection with the well-known family of benefactors. It was dedicated to the Virgin Mary in 1584 after the transfer of the homonymous icon, important work of the Cretan School. The monastery includes the katholikon, which was probably built in the early 16th century in the type of a single- nave basilica, and the cells that were built in the 18th centuryView more
The Church of Agios Nikolaos (Agoras)
It is located in the historic centre of the city (21, Hatzikosta street), which was called "Tourkopalouko" and tradition has placed there the original residence of the first Turks of the city. After the movement of Dionysios in 1611, most Christians were chased away from the castle and many settled in the already existing neighbourhoods.View more
The Monastery of Saint Panteleimon
According to written sources of the 16th century there was a temple in the same place as early as the 15th century. From this phase, only a fresco with a representation of Supplication, of St. Nikolaos and other saints is preserved on the south wall.View more
Prophet Elias Monastery
The only monastery which has no direct contact with the lake, is the monastery of Prophet Elias at the top of a low hill to the south of the settlement. The historical data for the monastery are minimal. The original building of the church, which probably dated back even in the late Byzantine period, was destroyed by the sultan's troops, in 1821-22.View more
The Church of Agios Nikolaos "in Kopani"
The Church (Konstantinoupoleos Avenue), took its name from the "kopanisma" of the clothes, that is the pounding of the clothes that the women washed in the lake. It is not known when the church was first built. Panagiotis Aravantinos in the "Chronicle of Epirus" (1856) mentions Agios Nikolaos "in Kopani" as one of the surviving churches from the Turkish conquest of 1430.View more
Church of Assumption of Holy Mary of Perivleptos
On the outskirts of the homonymous hill (35, Kyrillou Loukareos street), is located the Church of Perivleptos. The Church is dedicated to the Assumption of the Virgin Mary of the so-called Perivleptos, a typical example of a three- aisled basilica, built in a large walled courtyard.View more
Church of Agia Marina
In one of the oldest districts of Ioannina, in the center of the city, "Kaloutsia" (34, Agias Marinis street), the parish church is dedicated to the Great Martyr Agia Marina. The oldest information we have about the Church of Agia Marina, is that it was built in 1791.View more
The Monastery of Saint Ioannis Prodromos
The monastery is adjacent to a cave, near the shore of the lake. It was founded in 1506-07 by the monks brothers, Nektarios and Theofanis Apsaras, descendants of a Byzantine aristocratic family.View more
The Monastery of Saint Ioannis Prodromos of Kastritsa
The monastery was built inside the citadel of the hill between the 11th and 12th centuries, but suffered many damages during the 18th and 19th centuries. The katholikon is a four-aisled domed church which is adorned with 16th century frescoes.View more
Monastery of St. Nicholas Tzoras
The monastery is located on Mount Driskos, near the settlement of Vasiliki. It has been associated with the monastery of Saint Nikolaos of Mount Athos, which refers to a gold bull (chrysobull) of the Byzantine emperor Andronikos II of the year 1321. An engraved inscription on the west side of the katholikon mentions the construction of the present phase in 1583, while its fresco was made in 1663.View more
Monastery of St. George Dove - Dourouti
It is located within the University Campus of Ioannina and was named after the benefactor of Kalarrites Georgios D. Douroutis (early 19th century), to whom probably belonged the entire current homonymous area.
Church of Ag. Eleftherios
The Church of Ag. Eleftherios is located within the village and on an inscription it is indicated that the year of construction is 1901.View more
The Monastery of Metamorfosis Sotiros (Transfiguration of the Saviour)
It was built in 1656 and set on fire in 1822 by the sultan's troops. The current church, built in 1850, belongs to the type of three-aisled basilica with a rectangular narthex to the west side.View more
Monastery of Agia Aikaterini-Metochion of the Mount Sinai Monastery
It is located in the old quarter of Karavatia, east of Archimandreio (3, Archimandreiou street). It constitutes metochion of the monastery of Saint Catherine of Sinai. The original church was built in 1771 and renovated in 1801. Between the years 1872-1875 a radical renovation followed, sponsored by the wealthy Ioannina residents Alexiou and Angeliki Papazoglou.View more
Monastery of Holy Mary of Molivdoskepastou
Dedicated to the Assumption of Mary, it was built in the 7th century by Emperor Constantine and renovated twice until 1522. It was called Molivdoskepasti because it was covered with lead plates, which, according to tradition, were taken by Turks to make bullets. In 1943 it was bombed by Nazi.View more
The Church of Koimisis tis Theotokou (8, Archimandreiou street), the so-called Archimandreio, of the city of Ioannina, is unknown when it was built. Its existence is certain, however, as early as the 13th century.
The Fethiye Mosque
According to tradition, it is built on the site of the Byzantine church of Taxiarchis Michael, from which probably come two marble small piers of iconostasis, dated back to the 13th century, built into the niche (mihrab).View more
The small building located on the feet of the northeastern acropolis of the Castle, is probably connected to the Aslan Pasha seminary complex.
The Turkish hamam and bath
Its initial construction phase is placed on one view in the 15th century, while on a second one in the early 17th century with later interventions. It is structured in four spaces.
Sοufari Saray (süvari saray)
It is a large building (1815-1820) which housed the Cavalry School of Ali Pasha. It is a two-storey building with a rectangular floor plan covered by pitched roofs. Three large arched openings on the north and south sides facilitated the movement of horsemen.View more
Mageiria (hearth and home)
Mageiria is a square domed building with the typical chimneys of its fireplace. On the west side there was a small tank and a fountain. Today, it functions as a refreshment room of the Archaeological Site.View more
The Ali Pasha's Tomb
The monument includes two graves belonging to Ali and to one of his wives. After his assassination on the island of the Pamvotis lake in 1822, only his body was buried, while his head was transported to Istanbul.
Veli Pasha's building complex
On the southeast slopes of the hill of Litharitsia (55, Ag. Marinas street), this building complex consists of a mosque, the madrasa and auxiliary buildings, which belonged to the palace (saray) built by Ali Pasha for his son Veli.
Mosque of Kaloutsiani
The Mosque of Kaloutsianis is located in the central square of the homonymous district of the city. According to the wall inscription (unknown date) the Mosque was built in 1740 by Haci Mehmet Pasha, vali (governor) of Ioannina, in place of a metzit (Ottoman temple without a minaret).
The "Ancient Synagogue of Ioannina", located inside the castle (15, Ioustinianou street), is one of the largest and oldest preserved buildings throughout Greece. In its courtyard, which is surrounded by a high wall and includes a well and a fountain, an arched gate opens onto with the inscription 5657= 1897
The building of the Evangelical Church, which was built in 1935, is located at Samuel street. The Evangelical Community of Ioannina was officially founded in 1895, although there were Evangelists in Ioannina since at least 1879 when Stavros Michailidis established the first informal community.View more