According to a tradition, this monastery was founted in 1434 by Durahan Pasha, Beylerbeyi of Roumeli, after his army crossed the frozen lake. After a fire of 1825 it was built from the ground up in 1830.
The katholikon has the form of a three-aisled basilica with a narthex and a south pillared hayat. The frescoes and the iconostasis are remarkable works of the 19th century. Two-storey cell wings have been constructed to the west and south side of the katholikon.