The Church (Konstantinoupoleos Avenue), took its name from the "kopanisma" of the clothes, that is the pounding of the clothes that the women washed in the lake. It is not known when the church was first built. Panagiotis Aravantinos in the "Chronicle of Epirus" (1856) mentions Agios Nikolaos "in Kopani" as one of the surviving churches from the Turkish conquest of 1430.
Spyridon Lambros in the "Pages from the History of Ioannina" mentions that the eighteen ladies with Kyra Frosini were imprisoned in the church.
Inside the Church, is kept the right hand of the Saint Gregory the Theologician Archbishop of Constantinople or Gregory of Nazianzus, one of the most important holy relics of the Orthodox Church.