On the outskirts of the homonymous hill (35, Kyrillou Loukareos street), is located the Church of Perivleptos. The Church is dedicated to the Assumption of the Virgin Mary of the so-called Perivleptos, a typical example of a three- aisled basilica, built in a large walled courtyard.
Tradition and small written references place the current church on the site of an older one, whose beginning dates back to the Byzantine years and especially to the years of Turkish conquest (1430).
On August 4, 1779, Saint Cosmas of Aetolia, the Teacher of the Greek Nation, "he was wandering from place to place and stopped by the Church of Perivleptos on the suburbs of Ioannina and taught the Christians". During the years of the siege (1822-1823) the church was destroyed.
In the place of the old church, in 1838, the construction of the current church started with the care and assistance of the inhabitants of the city and the Yanniotes of the Diaspora.