It is located in the old quarter of Karavatia, east of Archimandreio (3, Archimandreiou street). It constitutes metochion of the monastery of Saint Catherine of Sinai. The original church was built in 1771 and renovated in 1801. Between the years 1872-1875 a radical renovation followed, sponsored by the wealthy Ioannina residents Alexiou and Angeliki Papazoglou.
The church is built in the type of a three-aisled wooden-roofed basilica, with an elevated gynaikonitis on the west side. One of the most remarkable, oldest portable icons kept in the church is Agia Aikaterini depicting scenes from her life, which is attached to the shrine, a work of 1770, created by the Kapesovite painter Ioannis Athanasiou. Late works of painters from the village of Chionades of the early 20th century are kept in the church.
The two-storey cell complex and the steeple are what is preserved today from the buildings of the monastery.