Dedicated to the Assumption of Mary, it was built in the 7th century by Emperor Constantine and renovated twice until 1522. It was called Molivdoskepasti because it was covered with lead plates, which, according to tradition, were taken by Turks to make bullets. In 1943 it was bombed by Nazi.
The original temple has a towering dome, 15 meters high. Its greatest treasure is the icon of Panagia "Pogonianitissa".
The Monastery, which is still active, was also a school of manuscripts.