It was built in 1656 and set on fire in 1822 by the sultan's troops. The current church, built in 1850, belongs to the type of three-aisled basilica with a rectangular narthex to the west side.
It was frescoed in 1851 by the monk Anthimos from Mount Athos. Some remarkable characteristics are the wood-carved iconostasis and the pulpit. The Seminary was founded in 1872, at the time when merged with the neighbouring Monastery of Eleousa.