The monastery is adjacent to a cave, near the shore of the lake. It was founded in 1506-07 by the monks brothers, Nektarios and Theofanis Apsaras, descendants of a Byzantine aristocratic family.
The katholikon and the newer cells are the only parts preserved from the monastery complex. The church is single- nave with a narthex to the west. At a later stage, side niches were added on the north and south sides. In 1789 it was frescoed at the expense of the guild of wine merchants. In 1822, during the siege of Ali Pasha by the Sultan's troops, the monastery was partly destroyed.
Monastery of Holy Mary of Molivdoskepastou
Monastery of Agia Aikaterini-Metochion of the Mount Sinai Monastery
The Monastery of Metamorfosis Sotiros (Transfiguration of the Saviour)
Church of Ag. Eleftherios
Monastery of St. George Dove - Dourouti
Monastery of St. Nicholas Tzoras
The Monastery of Saint Ioannis Prodromos of Kastritsa
Church of Assumption of Holy Mary of Perivleptos
The Church of Agios Nikolaos "in Kopani"
The Monastery of Saint Panteleimon
The Church of Agios Nikolaos (Agoras)
Monastery Panagia Eleousa
Monastery of the Birth of Virgin Mary at Dourachani
Church of Saint George of Ioannina
Monastery of Diliou or Strategopoulos
The Cathedral of Saint Athanasios