The Post Office

The building of the current post office (1, Markou Mpotsari street) was built in 1905 according to designs of the famous architect Periklis Melirrytos after the order of the Pasha of Ioannina Osman the Kurd. Initially, it was the roof of the first Ottoman Girl's School, while next to it (today's Hellenic Telecommunications Organisation S.A.), the lower Turkish primary school operated. It is a symmetrical two-storey building, with the central part of the facade protruding, with selected neoclassical elements, a central gable and Corinthian capitals at the corners of the floors.