The building of the VIII Division (Eleftherias Square)
The building of the Division, on Averof Street, then called "Konaki", was built by Rasim Pasha, who also founded the municipality of Ioannina in 1871.
Rasim founded the Division in 1879 on the site of Mukhtar's palace. In this building, on the night of February 20th 1913, the decision to hand over the city to the Greek army was taken. The building is three-storey with prominent edges. The morphological elements of the sides, such as the openings, are symmetrical.
This creates a harmonious result on the appearance of the building. It is an Ottoman building having as a dominant element its double arched external staircase that can be found in several mansions of Ioannina, of Byzantine origin.