The Church of Koimisis tis Theotokou (8, Archimandreiou street), the so-called Archimandreio, of the city of Ioannina, is unknown when it was built. Its existence is certain, however, as early as the 13th century.
Kipinas Monastery is one of the most impressive monasteries in Greece. For sure the small church made of wood and stone, built inside a rock will leave you speechless.
The monastery was built about 1212 AD. The road reaches the base of the cliff and then, if you want to go to the monastery, you must follow a path carved into the rock and a wooden bridge.
During Ottoman Empire, the monks raised the wooden bridge to be protected from the raids.
Agia Marina is located in one of the oldest districts of Ioannina, Kaloutsiani... According to tradition, the church of Agia Marina was first built in 1791, and only in 1809 the first reconstruction of the G.Gorgoli and Stefano Bubi was made. The English traveler Thomas Smart Hughes, who visited the city in 1813 in his travelogue characterises Agia Marina "as the most beautiful and brightest of Ioannina existing churches." In 1820 the church was burnt down by the sultan's troops besieging the city of Ioannina and in 1829 it was burned again by Veli Bey.
The Church of Ag. Eleftherios is located within the village and on an inscription it is indicated that the year of construction is 1901.
The church of Perivleptos, is dedicated to the Dormition of Mary and it is built on a low hill at the southern entrance of the city. Initially there was a Catholic monastery founded by Abbot Epiphanius in 1647.
It is located in Square Parga Ioanninon. The relics of the Saint, who is patron of the city, are kept in the church.
Saint George, was hanged by the Turks at age of 30, on January 17, 1838, from the plane tree that existed in the locality Kourmanio, near the gate of the city castle, when he refused to renounce Christianity.
The church of St Nicholas of the Market, is located near today's Independence Street. It shall also bear the name "Saint Nicholas of Bath", because the first Turkish bath built in the city was near.
In this position it seems that there was a temple from the early 17th century, which as it is stated in 1630 was demolished by Recep Aga's son. The church was rebuilt between 1647 and 1749, and again destroyed in 1820, during the events of Ali Pasha and the burning of the city by the sultan troops.
The church of St. Nicholas Kopanon, is located north of the city of Ioannina, near Limnopoula in the north exit of the town, on the way to Perama. In this area women used to wash clothes and beat the rugs in the water. This is why the church got the name of Kopanon (beaten).
The building of the Evangelical Church, which was built in 1935, is located at Samuel street. The Evangelical Community of Ioannina was officially founded in 1895, although there were Evangelists in Ioannina since at least 1879 when Stavros Michailidis established the first informal community. Today the faithful citizens of the Church in Ioannina amount to a few dozens and constitute a vibrant and amiable group of Ioannina's society.
Πρόκειται για την κεντρική εκκλησία του οικισμού Πλατανιάς, που είναι χτισμένη στους ανατολικούς πρόποδες του όρους Δρίσκου.
After the martyrdom of St. George on January 17, 1838, the faithful citizens made the site of the house a pilgrimage. One of the rooms was converted into a chapel for the operational needs of the faithful. Located at Mavrogianni 84 ''.
The "Ancient Synagogue of Ioannina", located inside the castle (15, Ioustinianou street), is one of the largest and oldest preserved buildings throughout Greece. In its courtyard, which is surrounded by a high wall and includes a well and a fountain, an arched gate opens onto with the inscription 5657= 1897.
The Monastery is located on the west side of the island, in a short distance from the monastery Philanthropists. Little is known about the history of the institution. It is however very likely founded in the 13th century by the family members of Stratigopoulou, as evidenced by its name.
The Monastery is located on the east side of the island just a short distance from the village. Historical data for the foundation come from the autobiography of brothers Theophanes and Nektarios Apsaras, who came from a mainland noble family, whose members held important offices in the city of Ioannina since the Byzantine era. There is no information on the history of the monastery of St. John after its establishment.
Η μονή του Αγίου Νικολάου Τζώρας βρίσκεται στο όρος Δρίσκος στις νοτιοανατολικές παρυφές του λεκανοπεδίου των Ιωαννίνων, σε απόσταση 3χιλ. από τον οικισμό Βασιλική.
The Monastery is in a short distance, east-southeast of the monastery of the Merciful, with which it was connected, during the last period of operation, after the destruction of the sultan's troops during the siege of Ali Pasha.
The Mosque of Kaloutsianis is located in the central square of the homonymous district of the city. According to the wall inscription (unknown date) the Mosque was built in 1740 by Haci Mehmet Pasha, vali (governor) of Ioannina, in place of a metzit (Ottoman temple without a minaret).
It is located on the west bank of the island after leaving the settlement. It is an institution of the House of Philanthropenon, one of the families coming from Constantinople that were settled in Ioannina since times of Michael I Komnenos Doukas. Five members of the family are depicted on the north wall of the exonarthex (1560), as owners of the monastery.
Located in front of the main gate of the castle.
A few meters further Neomartyras George (patron saint of Ioannina) was hanged on January 17, 1838
The only monastery which has no direct contact with the lake, is the monastery of Prophet Elias at the top of a low hill to the south of the settlement. The historical data for the monastery are minimal. The original building of the church, which probably dated back even in the late Byzantine period, was destroyed by the sultan's troops, in 1821-22. The church was rebuilt a few years later, probably with the contribution of the guild of furriers, who had custody of the monastery during the second half of the 19th century.
The Monastery of Saint Catherine is located in the old district of Karavatou, just east of the Archimandreio. It is a monastery of St. Catherine of Sinai. The original church was built in 1771 and renovated in 1801. Between 1872 to 1875 major renovation followed, sponsored by the wealthy Ioannina residents Alexios and Angeliki Papazoglou. Angeliki Papazoglou came from Skamneli. The temple is built in the type of three-aisled basilica with a raised loft on the west side. Among the most remarkable, old icons which are kept in the church is St.
At the point where the Metropolis of Ioannina is located today (1, Metropolis street), there was a Monastery dedicated to Saint Athanasios the Great. After the failed movement of Dionysios the Philosopher (Dionysios Skylosophos), in 1611, and the expulsion of Christians from the castle of Ioannina, the church of Saint Athanasios replaced the cathedral of Pantocrator inside the castle and became the third Cathedral of the city.
According to tradition, it is built on the site of the Byzantine church of Taxiarchis Michael, from which probably come two marble small piers of iconostasis, dated back to the 13th century, built into the niche (mihrab). The mosque was probably built after 1611 and was named "Fethiye", which means conquest. It took its final and current form in 1795 to serve the religious needs of Ali's saray.