The Treasure Chest of Ioannina

In the center of Kale and adjacent to the church of St. Anargyroi, there is the building known by the oral tradition as a «The treasure chest." It is an impressive building that probably belonged to a wider group of seraglios of Ali Pasha, whose remains were found in a short distance to the south of the building.At the western end of the south side, there is a vaulted opening that probably led to the next, vaulted space, which later was formed to the present church of St. Anargyroi. The building was restored by the 8th Ephorate of Byzantine Antiquities, during the years 1989 to 1990 and has since hosted a permanent exhibition of silverware.

The exhibition contains two main collections of objects, which are gifts of Archbishop Spyridon (1873-1956) and Constantine Ioannides (of a known family of silversmiths, 1907-1965). Recently enriched with precious jewels, donated by Titika Vellis - Dogoriti (1925- 2007). The exhibition is complemented by the reconstruction of a silversmith workshop, set up with the help of Silversmiths of Ioannina, the "Ioannina art". The exhibition of the "Treasury" is associated with the art of the silversmith, which flourished in Ioannina, especially during the post-Byzantine period. The silversmith workshops gave great works, urban (jewelery, utensils, weapons, etc.) and religious (blessing crosses, reliquaries, chalices, etc.). Visitors of the exhibition, draws important information on how to exercise the art and the most characteristic creation techniques (repousse, filigree, cast, enamel, etc.).