The Castle of Ioannina is built on the west bank of the lake on a small rocky peninsula, on the two hills of which an equal number of citadels are formed.
The church of St. Nicholas Kopanon, is located north of the city of Ioannina, near Limnopoula in the north exit of the town, on the way to Perama. In this area women used to wash clothes and beat the rugs in the water. This is why the church got the name of Kopanon (beaten).
Old mansion built in the late 18th century, is the only that survived the fire of 1820, thanks to the extensive vineyards that surrounded it. During the Turkish occupation it belonged to the family of Hussein-Bey. The name 'House of the Bishop' was given as it was for a considerable time the seat of the Metropolitan of Ioannina. This mansion is a classic of its kind. Considered a masterpiece of traditional architecture.
The Ioannina City Hall was built in 1928 by the National Bank, according to the designs selected by the architect Zoumboulidis in a "post-Byzantine" style, on the prior existent foundations of the Ottoman Command building, which was destroyed, probably due to an arson, in 1926.
Kaplaneios School was built in 1926 and is one of the perfect examples of new-byzantine style. Creator of it, Pericles Melirritos in the age of maturity. The school complex is named after the national benefactor Kaplani Zois (1736-1806). Today the building houses the municipal schools and kindergartens.
Mageiria is a square domed building with the typical chimneys of its fireplace.
On the west side there was a small tank and a fountain. Today, it functions as a refreshment room of the Archaeological Site.
The Mosque of Kaloutsianis is located in the central square of the homonymous district of the city. According to the wall inscription (unknown date) the Mosque was built in 1740 by Haci Mehmet Pasha, vali (governor) of Ioannina, in place of a metzit (Ottoman temple without a minaret).
The modest, discreet and calm neoclassical building located in Kourabies, next to Xenia, is the work of Sigismondou Mineiko.
When in 1885 Chivzi Pasha of Yianniotis descent was placed vali of sancak of Epirus and Albania and he was renowened for the impartial character and charitable feelings, he found out a serious lack of medical care in the region.
The Neoclassical building, Pericles Melirritos' work and perhaps the first since the establishment in Ioannina. The school was built at the expense of Zagoria benefactress Angeliki Papazoglou. The Papazogleios Weaving School today does not work and the building serves the city's teaching needs. The mansion is classified as a protected historic monument.
Stoa was built after the arsony of Ioannina in 1869, during which most of the old Ioannina market was destroyed.
The shops housed inside, were built with stone and had arched doors of thick iron door wing, large windows and cellars.
Stoa Louli was built in 1875 and its arches were imported from Italy. Initially the gallery functioned as an inn, where people from villages stayed when in Ioannina. Gradually the inn became point - node, where people gathered from across the continent, to start the great, for the season, trip to Athens. The constant motion of so many people resulted in the conversion of the Stoa into the mall of the time. First to develop commercial activity Lodge, were Jewish merchants of Ioannina, who operated shops with fabrics and leather.
It is a large building (1815-1820) which housed the Cavalry School of Ali Pasha. It is a two-storey building with a rectangular floor plan covered by pitched roofs. Three large arched openings on the north and south sides facilitated the movement of horsemen.
The monument includes two graves belonging to Ali and to one of his wives. After his assassination on the island of the Pamvotis lake in 1822, only his body was buried, while his head was transported to Istanbul.
The wrought iron railing is a replica of the original that was preserved until 1940.
The building of the Division, on Averof Street, then called "Konaki", was built by Rasim Pasha, who also founded the municipality of Ioannina in 1871.
The monumental Clock Tower of the city was built in 1905 on the initiative of Osman Pasha the Kurd, who was the Wali and general commander of Epirus and Southern Albania.
Τhis elegant mansion at Ioannina is known as the '' old Commercial School ''. It is a prestigious and very interesting building with strong neoclassical traits but, clearly the French influence.
Built in the 1870s as the residence of vali vilayet of Ioannina. This is a beautiful building with impressive pediment, large balcony on the back side, framed windows and compact ornate railings.
It is one of the many Jewish-owned buildings that survived. Built in second half of the 19th century by Davitzon Levi, who was a military surgeon. The building housed for many years a private school and so it is known as the 'High School”.
The house of Pyrsinellas (1, Aravantinou street), is one of the last few mansions to survive in Ioannina. It is owned by the Municipality of Ioannina, which comes from the entailment of the owner, Vasileios Pyrsinellas, who was also mayor of the city.
Typical Jewish 19th century building, currently inhabited. Street Kountourioti, in which the building is located, and the street Yosef Elijah, were the roads where mostly Jews lived.
The small building located on the feet of the northeastern acropolis of the Castle, is probably connected to the Aslan Pasha seminary complex.
In this house with striking features of Renaissance architecture, combined with the local tradition, the master builder of the company Continental Research, Constantine Frontzos (1904-1986) lived fifty years, who took over the building's design. The building was built in 1938 and was inherited to the company of Continental Research to house the Folk Museum.
One of the most beautiful bourgeois houses of Ioannina with neoclassical architectural elements. Participation of an architect in the design of the building is evident and his name was not rescued. Historical the family of the founders. The lawyer Georgios Tzavellas was a national fighter. His daughter Ismene gave her home in the municipality with the entire high value household in order to become a museum of Ioannina's traditional house.
The Missios's Manor (9, Assopiou street) is featured as a historical monument by the Royal Decree of 1936 and is a typical example of urban architecture in Ioannina of the 19th century. It was built in 1844, according to its stone carved inscription, located on the key of the central arch on the scale of the main facade.
It was built between the years 1901 and 1905, to the designs of the architect Periklis Melirrytos.
It was severely damaged by the 1940 bombardments and rebuilt in 1956. It was a school in the city and to this day continues to have an educational character housing one of the Secondary Schools of the city.
Located in the city center, built by the family Kappa in the early 20th century and is the only one of the private buildings of Pericles Meliryttos surviving. The Mediterranean character is due to lighter components. The current owner of the distinguished doctor Dimitrios Parlapas retained the original interior decoration and the original furnishings. Finally, this cheerful building has been classified as an architectural monument and artwork.
It is the largest in space and volume, building of Ioannina. Its construction went through many adventures. Construction began in 1935 according to plans of the gianniotissas architect Erikaitis Ioannidou (1910-1984).
The building of the Prefecture was bombed in 1940 and for many years after the war remained a ruin. It was rebuilt later and finished just in 1960. In 1970 a third floor was added in a traditional Gianniotiko shape but it contrasts with the austere and rigorous neoclassical style of the original building.
The building of the current post office (1, Markou Mpotsari street) was built in 1905 according to designs of the famous architect Periklis Melirrytos after the order of the Pasha of Ioannina Osman the Kurd. Initially, it was the roof of the first Ottoman Girl's School, while next to it (today's Hellenic Telecommunications Organisation S.A.), the lower Turkish primary school operated.
The name "Treasury" is attributed to oral tradition but we don't know if it is related to its original use.
It has a rectangular floor plan and is divided by a colonnade into two elongated spaces. Together with the building that was formed in the church of Agioi Anargyroi, it belonged to the west transept of the Ali Pasha's Saray.
Its initial construction phase is placed on one view in the 15th century, while on a second one in the early 17th century with later interventions. It is structured in four spaces.