Evidence of use of the hill dates back to the Neolithic era. In the 3rd century B.C. the Molossian inhabitants erect a strong fortification, 3.5 km long, with monumental towers and gates. In its inner limits, a complex urban network was established and large buildings were built, for private and possibly public use.
Life on this hill continued with adaptations during the Roman and Byzantine years. In the11th/ 12th century a monastery complex is being rebuilt, on the inside of the ancient enclosure, which is dedicated to Saint Ioannis the Prodromus. Today it operates thanks to modifications and annexes. Facilities connected to the defence network of the Ottomans during the defence of Ioannina (1913) are preserved scattered in the relief, since the turbulent period of the beginning of the 20th century.