The Litharitsia Fortress
On a hill southwest of the Castle a small fortress is built, one of Ali Pasha's creations of the period around 1800.
The main bastion is rectangular, stretches out on many levels and is reinforced with cannons at the top and gun emplacements at its bottom. In 1805, Ali Pasha at its peak built a large saray designed by the French architect Freywald and at a short distance, according to the English traveler William M. Leake, two more palaces for his sons, Mukhtar and Veli. These buildings were destroyed in 1820 during the siege of the city by the Sultan's troops.
Today, in the interior of the bastion there is a dining area, while the top of the hill has been transformed into park, within the boundaries of which are located the Archaeological Museum and the building premises of the 8th Division.